Jim Bennett

the bike ride

in the autumn
as we cycle out into the hills
the trees are a cliché of fire
with gold to brown leaves
we pedal through the hot ash
that fills the lane

at the top of the rise we stop
get out the video camera
press it to my eye so I see everything
in black and white

the bikes leaning against
the dry stone wall their shadows long
in the late afternoon sunlight
she is sitting on the wall
drinking from a bibon
she waves and smiles in monochrome
as she sees me filming

as I watch it back
she has already gone from my life
but I can watch her
as often as I want
see it now in colour on the TV
but no matter how often I play it
no matter how much I search
for a shadow   some clue
I am never in it

Copyright © Jim Bennett 2013

Jim Bennett lives on the Wirral with his family.  He has written 71 books the most recent poetry book is “Cartographer / Heswall” two poetry sequences published by Indigo Dreams Publishing in 2013.  He has won many awards and poetry competitions in a writing career that has lasted so far over 40 years.  He is the owner of the Poetry Kit website www.poetrykit.org  and tours for much of the year giving readings and performances of his poetry and songs.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

