Roddy Shippin

Tempus Repit

fan-head revolves
its half-circle

sheet of paper
flutters
at intervals

skittles are mainlined
for each pyrrhic burst
of energy

the watched clock
is being micromanaged

I tell the time
you pass too slow
this afternoon

I tell the time
you are not enough money

I tell the time
I’m just not sure what makes you tick

I tell the time
I’m sorry I kill you so often
it’s nothing personal

I tell the time
I’m just biding my you
until you & chance happen to me

Copyright © Roddy Shippin 2013

 

Roddy Shippin is anti-war, anti-cuts and anti-histamine. He has previously had poems in such places as The Delinquent, Ink Sweat & Tears, Handful of Stones and One Night Stanzas. He helps to run Blind Poetics – a monthly, Edinburgh-based spoken word evening – as well as edit the poetry at Valve Journal. Poetic influences include Edwin Morgan, Amiri Baraka and Shiv Chanderpaul.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Roddy Shippin

  1. james brown says:

    oh yes I enjoyed this. Especially as time is misbehaving this morning, where is it going?

Leave a Reply

