Mark Williams

Noman Finds the Exit

 

I am talking nobody’s listening.
I am walking nobody beside me.
What do I care, that I have no-one.
I’ve found the exit and I am free

Oh, car owners of this fair city
Pull to the side now and leave your cars.
Join with me, my stout and worthy ones.
It’s time to shake off all your cares.

The Queen of England doesn’t mind me,
always ready with a regal wave
but the rest of you when I appear
turn up your noses and look away.

In the dead of night you’ll hear me creeping
below your window while you’re half asleep.
Ignore at your peril my pearls of wisdom.
Crawl from your beds and walk with me.

Do not wait until you are persuaded.
I’ve found the exit. I’ve seen the sign.
In these slow shoes, I’ll keep shuffling
while I’m on my feet, while I still have time.

Copyright © Mark Williams 2014

David Mark Williams lives in Castle Douglas, south west Scotland. He has won prizes for his poetry in the UK and New Zealand. His debut collection, The Odd Sock Exchange, will be published by Cinnamon Press in 2015.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

