Phil Wood

Cairn

The crag like a humpback beached
in solitude, the cloth of sea mist
weathering her skin. I am lost
without a map, compass, and just
that cairn – a mocking grey finger
seemingly marking a path  – stacked
by whim not purpose. Below this cairn
gleams the moraine. There the wind
plays its tricks, sucks me in until I hear
the prayer of hands that lay the first stone –
a burial rock to lid the ghosting of bones.
The cairn sings – Cuiridh mi clach air do chàrn.
Chant and prayer, prayer and chant,
at the end, do we all clutch at words?
Myself? I have a whim to scrawl
a caveman’s bison. The stone I grasp
listens, waits and weighs my purpose.
I hear the whale songs of all those lost
in oceans of ice, a glacier grinding the rock
to crag and tail. I lay my hope on the cairn,
a gesture, a school’s mumbled prayer.

Copyright © Phil Wood 2015

Phil Wood works in a statistics office. Enjoys working with numbers and words. Recently published work can be found in online publications London Grip, The Recusant, The Stare’s Nest.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Phil Wood

  1. Pingback: Phil Wood – three poems – Clear Poetry

Leave a Reply

