Johanna Boal

In Death Remember the Colours in my Skin


On the slab, see the hoary colour of my skin,
now unzip me, with steely knives.
Gently slide the mature membrane
from my shoulders, down my arms
when you get to my fingers, pull like silk gloves.
At my breasts, touch gently
remember that red rush of response,
have a good tug at my tummy, hark back
sun tanned, the parties. Too much stout!
At my hips, twitch, wiggle and recall my pink mound.
The knees, both replaced and steel grey in colour,
be firm tweak a bit more then glide lightly
to my ankles and see the petit, skin coloured
like ballerina shoes but now permanent calloused feet.

Copyright © Johanna Boal 2015

I live in Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire.  I have been published in magazines, e-zines, anthologies, local radio and had my first poetry pamphlet published titled- Cardboard City by Poetry Space publishers, Bristol.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Johanna Boal

  1. gerwatts says:

    a contemplation of death that is very much alive

Leave a Reply

