Allison Grayhurst

The Hand That Came

The hand that came from
the cool water, reached
upon my deck to soothe
my extremes. The sun that
flowered green crumbled
across the twilight tide and painted
me a joy before unseen.
I watched the breaking waters
and felt it drifting over my skin like a spring-fresh leaf –
soft, majestic and full of promise.
The new seal was made, the old one broken.
It is the third birth.
A skull had fallen into my pocket and my secret
sold to dull fantasy. The waiting was cruel.
But the hand that came stripped me of my scars
and gave me an altar to place
my dying future upon.

Copyright © Allison Grayhurst 2015

Allison Grayhurst is a member of the League of Canadian Poets. She has over 500 poems published in over 250 international journals and anthologies. She has eleven published books of poetry and seven collections, as well as six chapbooks and one e-chapbook. She lives in Toronto with her family. She also sculpts, working with clay; www.allisongrayhurst.com

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Allison Grayhurst

  1. Pingback: The Hand That Came | Allison Grayhurst

Leave a Reply

