Mark Ryan Smith

Darth Vader’s Christmas Card

Dear Obi Wan

Is it really a year since I last wrote you?  How time flies when life is so full and busy.  Work is so demanding at the moment and I can hardly get time to myself.  Sometimes the  days we shared all those years ago seem so carefree.  But, one can never turn back the clock, I suppose.  The minutes always escape us, even with the power of the dark side so diligently mastered.

You might be interested to hear that the work of the Empire continues apace.  We are getting on with a few big projects and will be rolling out our programme of interstellar  initiatives in the near future.  Some of our ideas men are the most clever people, you know.  Even the most out of the way corners of the universe will soon begin to feel our power.  Yes, such is the way with the Emperor – he will strive after total domination.  I, for my part, am happy to take my place at his side and serve him as best I can.  The pay and conditions are excellent and I do enjoy the chance to travel so widely and in such comfort.

I expect destiny will get around to our old quarrel shortly.  I know we’ve had our differences but, when one knows it’s all part of a grand cosmic scheme, it is easy to keep personal malice and canker out of it.  Don’t you think?  I look forward to the end. It will be something of a relief to, at long last, lay aside our ancient enmity. Don’t you agree?

I expect that my son will soon be taking his first faltering steps in the great dance.  It has been a private vexation of mine that I have, from necessity, been absent during his childhood.  Part of me, I admit, a part of me so deep down I hardly even believe it really exists, would have enjoyed changing nappies and reading stories at bedtime.  My choice was to work away, however, and with that choice I must live.  I tilted for the great purpose.  Domesticity was never for me.  Some men are destined for great things.  Never mind.  I shall enjoy making his acquaintance, and renewing our own, in the not too distant future

So, that’s my news for another year.  Until we meet again,

Happy Christmas,

Your old friend,

Darth

Copyright © Mark Ryan Smith 2015

Mark Ryan Smith lives and works in Shetland.  He has published poems, stories and essays in various magazines, and a book about Shetland’s literary tradition.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

