Hugh McMillan

Torches Burn Bright:
(Romeo and Juliet)

I am not in poems you say,
I do not inspire.
Leaf mulch, gloom and rain:
it is November
and a storm is cooking,
going through the colours.
The coast will shake,
we will wear salt and water.

I root for words,
and every one I find
I want to string
with light
to illuminate our lives.
It is a dark art:
you are the counterpoint,
the blaze by which I see.

Copyright © Hugh McMillan 2015

Hugh McMillan lives in Penpont in Dumfries and Galloway and has been published widely.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hugh McMillan

  1. sirenoftherocks says:

    A beautiful testimonial to love.

Leave a Reply

