M.R. Baird

As the Soil is my Body

Here I have turned ruddy
As the turning soil
Deep crush
Beneath the weight
Of my forgiveness,
Into this free will universe
I have fallen
Farther than your song will carry me,
Tumbling into the seed of something
I have not yet seen or even remembered, strange,
This is the promise, the mystery given,
Into the garden without rain or lead,
A small revolution, then fuller from the making of it,
Knowing, there will come a day when
I will allow you to lift me up again.

Copyright © M.R. Baird, 2016

M. R. Baird was raised on the pabulum of the San Francisco Renaissance literary movement.  In a style uniquely her own, indelible images from the poetic ground – bare this deeply confessional and evocative work.
http://rachelbairdart.com/words

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

