John D Robinson

SAVING YOUR ASS

Trembling and paralyzed with
fear, the poor little thing hid
behind a dog’s water-bowl;
my 3 cats and in particular
the big black bastard with
mean green eyes was
towering above, poised and
prepared to strike and kill
I knew it wasn’t anything
personal between them
so I moved in with
a plastic container and a
sheet of card and scooped
up the little fellow;
I walked by my 3 pissed-off
looking cats and set the
mouse free in the back
garden;
‘Don’t come back’ I said
‘I may not be around next
time to save your ass’
and I watched him scurry
away, startled and jubilant
just
to be alive;
a feeling I know all
too well.

Copyright © John D Robinson 2016

John D Robinson was born in the UK in 63; He is a published poet ‘When You Hear The Bell, There’s Nowhere To Hide’ (Holy&intoxicated Publications 2016)  ‘Cowboy Hats & Railways’ (Scars Publications 2016). His work appears widely in the small press and online literary journals;

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

