John Grey

HITCHHIKER

The arrival of spring is welcome
but not noteworthy.
I enjoy buds on trees
as much as anyone
and yes, I tingle a little
at the thought
that eventually,
they’ll be full-blown foliage
but I know enough
not to take it personally.
It’s all down to earth’s orbit
The better weather’s
just an unintentional consequence.
And forget all that rubbish
about a young man’s fancy.
Yes, I do prefer my women
in their light, brief spring outfits
to the sexlessness of winter coats.
But, once again,
it’s all a question of astrophysics.
It’s not like my needs
had anything to do with it.
And yet, it’s a beautiful May day
and the park trees are lush
with leaf and flowering.
The lovely women
axe out in droves.
My body is loving it.
My eyes don’t know which way
to look.
But it’s nothing special.
The earth’s just taking
a spin through the heavens.
And it’s the only world
that’s offered me a ride.

Copyright © John Grey 2017

John Grey is an Australian poet, US resident. Recently published in New Plains Review, Stillwater Review and Big Muddy Review with work upcoming in Louisiana Review, Columbia College Literary Review and Spoon River Poetry Review.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

