Eileen Murphy

Caravan

I dream about my house of antique stuff,
my sagging sofa, bookshelves caving in;
then you pull up your caravan of love,
with furniture in mountains, moving in.
You don’t arrange or paint my living room;
at first, you don’t stir up a lot of dust.
You keep your snake collection safely tombed
and your bushy hair precisely brushed.
And I endure the Mozart tapes you play
all day and night without a moment’s halt.
And you consume the burnt meatballs I make
and do not spit and say it is my fault.
You are a king of men–unlike my ex–
And let’s not even talk about the sex.

Copyright © Eileen Murphy 2017

A former Chicagolander, Eileen Murphy now lives 30 miles from Tampa with her husband, three dogs, and one cat. She teaches literature and English at Polk State College in Lakeland.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eileen Murphy

    • Thank you. I like your website. Very atmospheric. Having just built my own (and it’s still a work in progress) I know what goes into a beautiful site like yours. So I thought you should know it was a “kewl.”

Leave a Reply

