Rachel Carney

Growing into Myself

Yesterday, a small green bud
sprouted behind my left ear.

Today it began to unfurl,
curling out of itself, reaching

for the light. Tomorrow it will
become a perfect leaf – veins

leading down into my core,
spreading its cytoplasm

mucus-like, through blood
and bone. The leaf will

grow. More leaves will appear,
blooming like tattoos gone

wrong from every pore,
stretching out to catch the rain

as I walk, spreading for sun
light, precious as air, slowing

me down, as I root myself in
solid, earthen, welcoming

ground. I will grow into my
self, becoming my own desire

for peace, slowing into an older
version of time, climbing, like

hope: steady, grip by grip,
leaf by leaf, above and beyond.

Copyright © Rachel Carney 2017

Rachel Carney runs a book review blog at www.createdtoread.com. Her poems have appeared in Sarasvati Magazine and The High Window Journal.
 

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

