Kathy Gee

Last Laugh

So, Kathy, let me introduce myself.
We’ve never met, and I admit I’ve left it
rather late, but you should know me now.
Remember how I once put off our meeting
in the arid deserts of Peru?
And when they caught you falling off that mountain,
I was ready. Then you touched my hand ,
but waiting at your shoulder gave me purpose.

May I take this chair? I’ll stay here now.
No thanks, you can’t distract me with a bowl
of cherries, lemonade or get-well cards.
I’m quite surprised you didn’t get the message.

Please don’t think me dour – it’s wrong to think
that Death can’t smile. I’m having fun right now.

Copyright © Kathy Gee 2017

Kathy Gee’s first collection was published in May 2016:  http://vpresspoetry.blogspot.co.uk/p/book-of-bones.html. She lives in Worcestershire and works very hard but no longer gets paid for it.

About sunnydunny

Poet, publisher, gardener
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

